030 / 20 05 91 33

Your private practice for thyroid disorders in the heart of Berlin-Mitte

Have you noticed a lump feeling or a swelling in your throat? Do you feel lethargic or depressed? Are you irritable or suffering from mood swings? Do you sweat a lot? Have you noticed cardiac arrhythmia? Do you suffer from hair loss or inexplicable weight changes? All these symptoms can be signs of a disorder of the form or function of the thyroid gland.

Dr. med. Köster is a specialist in the treatment of thyroid diseases. Among other foci, this medical practice specialises in the treatment of the thyroid gland in patients who wish to have children and also pregnant women. We are a private practice; we are not registered with the statutory health insurance; therefore we only treat private patients or self-paying patients.

Dr. med. Claudia KösterYour medical specialist in Berlin

Dr. med. Claudia Köster gained her degree in medicine from Hanover Medical School (MHH/Medizinische Hochschule Hannover); there she also completed her specialist training in the Department of Nuclear Medicine and special Chemistry. In 1996 she completed her specialist training with the specialist medical state examination.

During her specialist training at Hanover Medical School, her main research interests were the quantification of myocardial perfusion by means of positron emission tomography and thyroid carcinomas with a special focus on the medullary thyroid carcinoma.

Dr. med. Claudia Köster received her PhD in 1992 upon having submitted her PhD thesis on comparative experimental work on metabolic changes in rat liver as a result of alcohol and hyperthyroidism.

Since 1997 Dr. med. Claudia Köster has been practicing as a specialist in nuclear medicine in Wolfsburg, Germany. In the course of her work she has been increasingly specializing in thyroid diagnostics and therapy.

Dr. med. Claudia Köster is married and has four children.

Thyroid diseases

There are many different thyroid diseases. The thyroid gland can be enlarged, but it may also be very small. Even in a normal-sized thyroid gland there may be lumps, which often do not cause any problems. These thyroid nodules can be differentiated into "hot" and "cold" thyroid nodules.

It is not uncommon for inflammations of the thyroid gland to occur, which often lead to functional disorders of the thyroid, i. e. hyperthyroidism and hypothyroidism, the latter also called hypothyreosis. Also, thyroid carcinoma (thyroid cancer) can occur in the thyroid gland.

Thyroid gland disordersSymptoms

Hyperthyroidism

Hyperthyroidism is a functional disorder of the thyroid gland that may occur as a result of acute or chronic inflammation. Hyperthyroidism can also be caused by thyroid autonomies or by an overdose of thyroid hormones.

The typical symptoms of an overactive thyroid gland are mental agitation, palpitations, irritability, weight loss and sweating, but it can also occur completely without symptoms.

An overactive thyroid gland leads to heart stress and always needs to be treated. Depending on the underlying disease, this can be treated with medication, surgery or radioiodine therapy.

More about Hyperthyroidism

Hypothyroidism

An underactive thyroid gland (hyothyroidism) is a functional disorder that may occur as a result of inflammation. It can also be the result of radiotherapy or surgery.

The hypofunction of the thyroid gland can be accompanied by symptoms such as slackness, tiredness, listlessness, depressive moods, weight gain or headaches. Some patients have no symptoms at all.

The hypofunction of the thyroid gland does not necessarily have to be treated with medication.

More about hypothyroidism

Goiter

The enlargement of the thyroid gland is called goiter. It occurs with or without nodules. In the case of throat problems, drug therapy may be necessary. In rare cases, surgery or radioiodine therapy may be necessary.

Autonomy

Hot nodules are nodules that produce increased amounts of thyroid hormones. They are always benign. They can lead to hyperthyroidism. An overactive thyroid glad can cause symptoms such as anxiety, palpitations, weight loss and sweating.

Cold Nodules

Cold nodules often occur in the thyroid gland. They do not produce hormones. Therefore they do not change the thyroid metabolism. In most cases cold nodules are completely harmless. Very rarely, however, they can degenerate malignantly. Thus they must be checked regularly and sometimes need to be removed.

Graves' disease

Graves' disease is an autoimmune-induced chronic inflammation of the thyroid gland, which is often accompanied by hyperfunction, i. e. an increased production of thyroid hormones.

The overactive thyroid in Graves' disease can be accompanied by symptoms such as mental agitation, palpitations, sweating and weight loss. Sometimes, Graves' disease can also cause thickening of the eyes, the so-called endocrine orbitopathy.

Autoimmune thyroiditis

Autoimmune thyroiditis is a chronic, autoimmune disease of the thyroid gland, often accompanied by the symptom of a scarring shrinkage and hypothyroidism.

It can cause symptoms such as freezing, lethargy, listlessness and weight gain. In rare cases, autoimmune thyroiditis can also lead to growth of the thyroid gland. This rampant form of thyroiditis is called Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Thyroid carcinoma (thyroid cancer)

Thyroid carcinomas are rare. However, there are many thyroid nodules. The problem is to recognize the few degenerated nodules so that a thyroid carcinoma can be treated early.

Thyroid tumors, both the differentiated thyroid carcinomas and the medullary thyroid carcinomas, have an excellent prognosis if detected early enough. They grow very slowly. They form metastases in the body very late, so that this type of cancer is usually treated early enough. Only the undifferentiated (anaplastic) thyroid carcinoma is a fast growing tumor. It occurs very rarely nowadays, which may be due to the increasing iodination of food.

In rare cases a cancer in the thyroid gland may not have grown there but may be a metastasis of another tumor (lung cancer, breast cancer, kidney cancer). Fortunately, these metastases are rarely found.


Thyroid gland & pregnancy

During pregnancy a normal thyroid function is very important. An underfunction of the thyroid gland leads to an increased miscarriage rate during pregnancy.

As early as in the phase when there is a desire to have a child, too low thyroid hormone levels lead to a reduced ability to conceive. Pregnancy should be avoided in cases of hyperthyroidism.

Most of the medications used to treat hyperfunction are harmful to the unborn child – depending on the dosis. However, failure to treat hyperfunction is also harmful to mother and child. In the case of goiter formation, a therapy of the thyroid gland should be effected during pregnancy because pregnancy stimulates growth of the thyroid gland and thyroid nodules.

The thyroid gland and pregnancy

Hypothyroidism

During pregnancy a normal thyroid function is very important. An underfunction of the thyroid gland leads to an increased miscarriage rate during pregnancy. As early as in the phase when there is a desire to have a child, too low thyroid hormone levels lead to a reduced ability to conceive.

There are studies that link too low maternal thyroid hormone levels during pregnancy with a slightly lower intelligence quotient of the child.

Substitution therapy

If maternal hypothyroidism is known to exist, thyroid hormone therapy must be optimized before pregnancy.

The values must then be checked immediately in the pregnancy to prevent miscarriage in early pregnancy. In the further course of the pregnancy regular laboratory checks must also be carried out. If the mother's values are always well adjusted during pregnancy, there should be no negative consequences for the child.

Hyperthyroidism

Pregnancy should be avoided in cases of hyperactivity. Most medicines for hyperactivity (thyrostatics) are harmful to the unborn child, depending on the doses.

Failure to treat hyperfunction in pregnancy is also harmful to mother and child.

Goiter

In case of goiter formation, thyroid therapy should be carried out during pregnancy, because pregnancy stimulates growth of the thyroid gland and also of thyroid nodules.

The parameters of the therapy must be checked regularly.

Thyroid gland diagnosticsExamination procedure

The diagnosis of the thyroid gland consists of various examinations: Manual palpation, ultrasound examination (sonography) of the thyroid gland and the lymph nodes of the neck, and laboratory tests.

The complete examination of the thyroid gland is usually performed at the time of your appointment.

If you have already had earlier thyroid examinations, please bring the reports of your previous examinations or thyroid surgery to your examination appointment as this will make it easier for Dr. Köster to assess your thyroid.

Should you wish to ask Dr. Köster for a second opinion on a suggested thyroid treatment, the preliminary findings are extremely important for a reasonable statement.

In individual cases, a scintigraphy of the thyroid gland to assess the nodules, a trachea image (X-ray examination of the trachea) to clarify a constriction caused by the thyroid gland, or an MRI or CT of the thorax (magnetic resonance tomography or computer tomography of the thorax) are necessary to identify any parts of the thyroid gland which may be located in the thorax. We will issue a transfer certificate to the pertinent specialist for these examinations.

Dr. Köster will discuss the further procedure with you directly after the examination. Of course, you or your family doctor will also receive a detailed written report after about 14 days.

Laboratory diagnostics

The blood serves to determine the thyroid function, thyroid inflammation can be detected, and also indications of thyroid tumors can be found.

To detect or rule out hyperthyroidism or hypofunction of the thyroid gland, the thyroid hormone levels (T3 and T4) and the thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) as the controlling hormone of the pituitary gland are determined.

All thyroid hormones are strongly protein-bound, and therefore the volumes fluctuate. However, the important parameter is not the amount of total thyroid hormones in the blood anyway, but the free portion of thyroid hormones that is functionally active. This is why nowadays free thyroid hormone levels (fT3 and fT4) are usually determined. Thyroid autoantibodies occur in autoimmune diseases of the thyroid gland, which are very common these days.

In autoimmune thyroiditis (Hashimoto's thyroiditis), often there are increased values of the TPO antibodies (antibodies compared to thyroid peroxidase) and Tg antibodies (antibodies compared to thyroglobulin).

Graves' disease is a disease in which TRAK (TSH receptor antibodies) are usually increased. These levels are determined to detect thyroid inflammation or to monitor the course of autoimmune thyroid disease.

The thyroid tumour markers are thyroglobulin and calcitonin. They indicate the presence of thyroid carcinoma.

Thyroglobulin is often increased in papillary or follicular thyroid carcinoma and is particularly important in the aftercare of these thyroid tumours. However, thyroglobulin may also be high in benign thyroid nodules (follicular neoplasia), but is usually also increased if there is an acute inflammation of the thyroid or bleeding into thyroid nodules or cysts. For this reason the values must always be compared with the other findings of the thyroid examination.

Calcitonin is a tumour marker that is very accurate in detecting medullary thyroid carcinoma. Calcitonin is also extremely important in the follow-up care of medullary thyroid carcinoma after surgery. Calcitonin can also be increased in benign thyroid diseases (C-cell hyperplasia), but also in kidney diseases or, but rarely, in bronchial carcinoma or breast cancer.

Thyroid sonographyUltrasound examination

With the help of sonography (ultrasound examination), structural changes in the thyroid gland (nodules, cysts, calcifications) can be found, the size of the thyroid gland can be determined, or tissue changes can be observed.

Our colour Doppler sonography device HD 7 (Philips) works in a frequency range from 5 MHz to 12 MHz. The XRES-adaptive image processing reduces random noise and improves image resolution. The SonoCT Real Time Compound Imaging improves contrast and clarifies the marking of tissue transitions by capturing and combining subsequent images with different control angles.

With our colour Doppler, the perfusion (blood flow) of the thyroid gland or structures within the thyroid gland can also be assessed. This is helpful for determining the quality of thyroid tissue.

Sometimes a sonographically controlled fine needle puncture is necessary to assess tissue, i.e. tissue removal with a thin needle under ultrasound control. This allows the tissue to be clearly assessed in the case of noticable and/or conspicuous nodules. This fine needle puncture is performed on an outpatient basis and is no more painful than a blood sample.

Thyroid scintigraphy

The scintigraphy of the thyroid gland is a nuclear medical examination. Often the thyroid gland can be monitored and treated well without this examination. In some cases, however, the examination is necessary.

The thyroid scintigraphy is necessary if there are noticeable nodules in the thyroid. In this case we will issue a transfer certificate to the pertinent specialist for a scintigraphy. For this examination, a slightly radioactive substance is injected into the arm vein. This substance is 99m-Technetium. The radiation exposure is very low because the technetium has a physical half-life of 6 hours and a biological half-life that is even shorter. Usually there are no allergic reactions to the injection norany other intolerances.

The technetium accumulates in the thyroid gland within 10-20 minutes. Then an image of the thyroid gland is taken with a so-called gamma camera, because the technetium emits gamma radiation. The image can then be used to show the function of the thyroid gland or individual thyroid nodules.

Hot knots can be distinguished as well as cold knots. Some nodules also have a normal metabolism. The overall metabolism of the thyroid gland can also be measured.

The hot nodules do not become malignant. They are always harmless, but they are a little less common than the cold nodules. The hot nodules can cause hyperthyroidism.

The cold nodules are harmless in the vast majority of cases. Less than 1 per mil of the cold nodules will turn into a thyroid carcinoma (thyroid cancer).

No special preparation is required for thyroid scintigraphy. The patients do not need to be fasting. They may eat and drink normally before the examination. They are also allowed to take most medications. Only thyroid tablets should not be taken on the day of the scintigraphy. The absorption of the technetium in the thyroid gland is altered if patients have been given X-ray contrast medium (e.g. in a computer tomography) in the four weeks before the scintigraphy. In such a case the examination should be postponed.

A thyroid scintigraphy is of course not carried out if you are pregnant because of the radiation exposure. With children a scintigraphy will only be necessary in very rare cases.

Appointments


If you want to make an appointment with us, please enter your name and telephone number here. We will call you back.

  030 - 20 05 91 33

ContactThyroid private practice Berlin-Mitte

Location
The practice is located at Glinkastrasse 30,
not far from the corner to Französische Straße.

Glinkastrasse 30
10117 Berlin (Mitte)

Telephone:030 / 20 05 91 33
0151 / 51 55 80 00
Telefax:030 / 20 05 91 34

Appointments upon prior agreement
Mondays: 8.00 a.m.- 6.00 p.m.
Tuesdays: 8.00 a.m.- 6.00 p.m.
Wednesdays: 8.00 a.m.- 3.30 p.m.
Thursdays: 8.00 a.m.- 6.00 p.m.
Fridays: 8.00 a.m.- 2.00 p.m.


BVG (Berlin public transportation) timetable information
BVG Fahrplanauskunft

030 / 20 05 91 33

Ihre Schilddrüsen-Privatpraxis im Herzen von Berlin-Mitte

Haben Sie ein Kloßgefühl im Hals oder eine Halsschwellung bemerkt? Fühlen Sie sich antriebslos oder depressiv? Sind Sie reizbar oder leiden unter Stimmungsschwankungen? Schwitzen Sie vermehrt oder haben Sie Herzrhythmusstörungen bemerkt? Leiden Sie unter Haarausfall oder unerklärbaren Gewichtsveränderungen? All diese Symptome können Anzeichen für eine Störung der Form oder der Funktion der Schilddrüse sein.

Frau Dr. med. Köster ist als Fachärztin spezialisiert auf die Behandlungen von Erkrankungen der Schilddrüse. Einer der Schwerpunkte dieser Arztpraxis ist die Therapie der Schilddrüse bei Kinderwunschpatientinnen und Schwangeren. Wir sind eine Privatpraxis ohne Kassenzulassung und können daher nur Privatpatienten oder selbstzahlende Patienten behandeln.

Dr. med. Claudia KösterIhre Fachärztin in Berlin

Dr. med. Claudia Köster studierte Medizin an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover (MHH). Sie absolvierte an der MHH auch ihre Facharztausbildung in der Abteilung für Nuklearmedizin und spezielle Biophysik. 1996 schloß sie die Facharztausbildung mit der Facharztprüfung ab.

Während ihrer Facharztausbildung in der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover waren ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte die Quantifizierung der Myokardperfusion mittels Positronenemissionstomographie sowie die Schilddrüsenkarzinome, insbesondere das medulläre Schilddrüsenkarzinom.

Dr. med. Claudia Köster promovierte 1992 mit einer vergleichenden experimentellen Arbeit über Stoffwechselveränderungen in der Rattenleber als Folge von Alkohol und von Schilddrüsenüberfunktionen.

Seit 1997 ist Dr. med. Claudia Köster als Fachärztin für Nuklearmedizin in Wolfsburg niedergelassen. Sie hat sich im Verlauf ihrer Tätigkeit zunehmend auf die Schilddrüsendiagnostik und -therapie spezialisiert.

Dr. med. Claudia Köster ist verheiratet und hat vier Kinder.

Schilddrüsenerkrankungen

Es gibt viele unterschiedliche Erkrankungen der Schilddrüse. Die Schilddrüse kann vergrößert sein, aber auch manchmal sehr klein. Auch in der normalgroßen Schilddrüse können Knoten auftreten, die häufig keine Beschwerden verursachen. Diese Schilddrüsenknoten lassen sich unterscheiden in „heiße“ und „kalte“ Knoten.

In der Schilddrüse kann auch ein Schilddrüsenkarzinom (Schilddrüsenkrebs) vorkommen. Gar nicht so selten kommen Entzündungen der Schilddrüse vor, die oft zu Funktionsstörungen der Schilddrüse führen: der Schilddrüsenüberfunktion und der Schilddrüsenunterfunktion.

Schilddrüsen-ErkrankungenKrankheitsbilder

Schilddrüsenüberfunktion

Die Überfunktion der Schilddrüse (Hyperthyreose) ist eine Funktionsstörung, die als Folge von akuten oder chronischen Entzündungen auftreten kann. Auch Autonomien können Überfunktionen verursachen, ebenso wie eine Überdosierung von Schildrüsenhormonen.

Die Überfunktion der Schilddrüse kann Symptome wie innere Unruhe, Herzrasen, Reizbarkeit, Gewichtsabnahme und Schwitzen verursachen; sie kann aber auch vollkommen symptomlos auftreten.

Eine Überfunktion der Schilddrüse führt zu einer Herzbelastung und muß immer behandelt werden. Dies kann je nach Grunderkrankung medikamentös, operativ oder mit einer Radiojodtherapie erfolgen.

Mehr über Schilddrüsenüberfunktion

Schilddrüsenunterfunktion

Die Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse (Hyothyreose) ist eine Funktionsstörung, die als Folge von Entzündungen auftreten kann. Sie kann auch Folge von Radojodtherapien oder Operationen sein.

Die Unterfunktion der Schildrüse kann mit Symptomen wie Schlappheit, Müdigkeit, Antriebslosigkeit, depressiven Verstimmungen, Gewichtszunahme oder Kopfschmerzen einhergehen. Manche Patienten haben überhaupt keine Symptome.

Die Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse muß nicht zwingend medikamentös behandelt werden.

Mehr über Schilddrüsenunterfunktion

Struma

Die Vergrößerung der Schilddrüse nennt sich Struma. Sie kann mit oder ohne Knoten auftreten. Bei dem Auftreten von Halsbeschwerden kann eine medikamentöse Therapie nötig werden. In seltenen Fällen ist auch einmal eine Operation oder Radiojod-Therapie nötig.

Autonomie

Die heißen Knoten sind Knoten, die vermehrt Schilddrüsenhormone produzieren. Sie sind immer gutartig. Sie können zu einer Überfunktion der Schilddrüse führen. Die Schilddrüsenüberfunktion kann Symptome wie innere Unruhe, Herzrasen, Gewichtsabnahme und Schwitzen verursachen.

Kalte Knoten

Die kalten Knoten kommen oft in der Schilddrüse vor. Sie produzieren keine Hormone. Sie können von daher den Schilddrüsenstoffwechsel auch nicht verändern. In den meisten Fällen sind die kalten Knoten vollkommen harmlos. Sehr selten jedoch können sie entarten. Deshalb müssen sie regelmäßig kontrolliert, manchmal auch entfernt werden.

Morbus Basedow

Der Morbus Basedow ist eine autoimmunbedingte chronische Entzündung der Schilddrüse, die häufig mit einer Überfunktion, einer vermehrten Produktion von Schilddrüsenhormonen, einhergeht.

Die Überfunktion beim Morbus Basedow kann mit Symptomen wie innerer Unruhe, Herzrasen, Schwitzen und Gewichtsabnahme einhergehen. Manchmal kann bei der Basedowschen Krankheit auch eine Verdickung der Augen, die endokrine Orbitopathie, auftreten.

Autoimmunthyreoiditis

Die Autoimmunthyreoiditis ist eine chronische, autoimmunbedingte Erkrankung der Schilddrüse, die im Verlauf oft mit einer narbigen Schrumpfung und einer Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse einhergeht.

Sie kann Symptome wie Frieren, Antriebslosigkeit, Schlappheit und Gewichtszunahme verursachen. Selten einmal kann die Autoimmunthyreoiditis auch zu einem Wachstum der Schilddrüse führen. Diese wuchernde Form der Schilddrüsenentzündung nennt sich Thyreoiditis Hashimoto.

Schilddrüsenkarzinome (Schilddrüsenkrebs)

Die Schilddrüsenkarzinome sind selten. Es gibt allerdings sehr viele Schilddrüsenknoten. Das Problem besteht darin, die wenigen entarteten Knoten zu erkennen, so dass ein Schilddrüsenkarzinom frühzeitig behandelt werden kann.

Die Schilddrüsentumoren, sowohl die differenzierten Schilddrüsenkarzinome wie auch die medullären Schilddrüsenkarzinome, haben, wenn sie früh genug erkannt werden, eine hervorragende Prognose. Sie wachsen sehr langsam. Sie bilden sehr spät Metastasen (Absiedlungen) im Körper, so dass diese Krebserkrankung meistens früh genug behandelt wird. Lediglich das undifferenzierte (anaplastische) Schilddrüsenkarzinom ist ein schnell wachsender Tumor. Er tritt heute nur noch sehr selten auf, was vielleicht an der zunehmenden Jodierung von Lebensmitteln liegt.

Selten einmal kann ein Krebs in der Schilddrüse nicht dort gewachsen sein, sondern eine Absiedlung (Metastase) eines anderen Tumors (Lungenkrebs, Brustkrebs, Nierenkrebs) sein. Diese Metastasen finden sich aber glücklicherweise nur selten.


Schilddrüse & Schwangerschaft

In der Schwangerschaft ist eine normale Schilddrüsenfunktion sehr wichtig. Eine Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse führt in der Schwangerschaft zu einer erhöhten Fehlgeburtsrate.

Bereits in der Phase des Kinderwunsches führen zu niedrige Schilddrüsenhormonwerte zu einer verminderten Empfängnisfähigkeit. In der Überfunktion sollte eine Schwangerschaft vermieden werden.

Die meisten Medikamente gegen die Überfunktion sind dosisabhängig schädlich für das ungeborene Kind. Eine fehlende Behandlung der Überfunktion ist aber auch schädlich für Mutter und Kind. Bei einer Kropfbildung sollte in einer Schwangerschaft eine Therapie der Schilddrüse erfolgen, weil die Schwangerschaft einen Wachstumsreiz auf Schilddrüse und Schilddrüsenknoten ausübt.

Schilddrüse und Schwangerschaft

Hypothyreose (Unterfunktion)

In der Schwangerschaft ist eine normale Schilddrüsenfunktion sehr wichtig. Eine Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse führt in der Schwangerschaft zu einer erhöhten Fehlgeburtsrate. Bereits in der Phase des Kinderwunsches führen zu niedrige Schilddrüsenhormonwerte zu einer verminderten Konzeptionsfähigkeit (Empfängnisfähigkeit).

Es gibt auch Studien, die zu niedrige mütterliche Schilddrüsenhormonwerte während der Schwangerschaft mit einem etwas niedrigeren Intelligenzquotienten des Kindes in Verbindung bringen.

Substitutionstherapie

Bei bekannter mütterlicher Schilddrüsenunterfunktion (Hypothyreose) muß die Schilddrüsenhormontherapie schon vor der Schwangerschaft eingestellt werden.

Die Werte müssen dann sofort in der Schwangerschaft überprüft werden, damit es nicht in der Frühschwangerschaft zu einer Fehlgeburt kommt. Auch im weiteren Verlauf müssen dann in der Schwangerschaft regelmäßige Laborkontrollen erfolgen.

Wenn die Werte der Mutter in der Schwangerschaft immer gut eingestellt sind, sollte es keine negativen Konsequenzen für das Kind geben.

Hyperthyreose (Überfunktion)

In der Überfunktion sollte eine Schwangerschaft vermieden werden. Die meisten Medikamente für die Überfunktion (Thyreostatika) sind dosisabhängig schädlich für das ungeborene Kind.

Eine fehlende Behandlung einer Überfunktion in der Schwangerschaft ist aber auch schädlich für Mutter und Kind.

Struma (Kropfbildung)

Bei einer Kropfbildung sollte in einer Schwangerschaft eine Therapie der Schilddrüse erfolgen, weil die Schwangerschaft einen Wachstumsreiz auf die Schilddrüse und auch auf Schilddrüsenknoten ausübt.

Die Einstellung der Therapie muß regelmäßig überprüft werden.

Schilddrüsen-DiagnostikUntersuchungsverfahren

Die Diagnostik der Schilddrüse setzt sich aus verschiedenen Untersuchungen zusammen: Tastbefund, Ultraschalluntersuchung (Sonographie) der Schildrüse sowie der Lymphknoten am Hals und Laborwertbestimmung.

Die Untersuchung der Schilddrüse erfolgt üblicherweise komplett zum Zeitpunkt Ihres Termines.

Möglicherweise sind bei Ihnen bereits früher Untersuchungen der Schilddrüse erfolgt. Es erleichtert Frau Dr. Köster die Beurteilung Ihrer Schilddrüse, wenn Sie die Berichte Ihrer früheren Untersuchungen oder Schilddrüsenoperationen zu Ihrer Untersuchung mitbringen.

Sollten Sie Frau Dr. Köster um eine Zweitmeinung zu Ihrer Schilddrüsenbehandlung bitten wollen, sind die Vorbefunde für eine vernünftige Stellungnahme ausgesprochen wichtig.

In Einzelfällen sind auch eine Szintigraphie der Schilddrüse zur Funktionsbeurteilung von Knoten, eine Tracheazielaufnahme (Röntgenuntersuchung der Luftröhre) zur Abklärung einer durch die Schilddrüse verursachten Einengung oder ein MRT oder CT des Thorax (Kernspintomographie oder Computertomographie des Brustkorbes) erforderlich, um im Brustkorb gelegene Schilddrüsenanteile zu erkennen. Zu diesen Untersuchungen werden Sie von uns überwiesen.

Frau Dr. Köster bespricht das weitere Vorgehen direkt im Anschluß an die Untersuchung mit Ihnen. Sie selber oder ihr Hausarzt bekommen aber natürlich auch nach ca. 14 Tagen einen ausführlichen schriftlichen Befund.

Schilddrüsen-Labordiagnostik

Im Blut lässt sich die Schilddrüsenfunktion bestimmen, Schilddrüsenentzündungen nachweisen und auch Hinweise auf Schilddrüsentumoren finden.

Zum Nachweis oder Ausschluss einer Überfunktion oder Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse werden die Schilddrüsenhormonwerte (T3 und T4) sowie das Thyreoidea stimulierende Hormon (TSH) als regulierendes Hormon der Hirnanhangsdrüse bestimmt.

Die Gesamtschilddrüsenhormone sind stark eiweißgebunden und deswegen schwankend. Das Wichtige ist aber sowieso nicht die Menge der Gesamtschilddrüsenhormone im Blut, sondern der freie Anteil der Schilddrüsenhormone, der funktionell aktiv ist. Deswegen werden heute üblicherweise die freien Schilddrüsenhormonwerte (fT3 und fT4) bestimmt.

Die Schilddrüsenautoantikörper treten bei Autoimmunerkrankungen der Schilddrüse auf. Diese sind heute sehr häufig.

Bei der Autoimmunthyreoiditis (Hashimoto-Thyreoiditis) sind häufig die TPO-Antikörper (Antikörper gegen thyreoidale Peroxidase) und Tg-Antikörper (Antikörper gegen Thyreoglobulin) erhöht.

Die Basedow-Erkrankung ist eine Erkrankung, bei der meist die TRAK (TSH-Rezeptor-Antikörper) erhöht sind. Diese Werte werden bestimmt, um Schilddrüsenentzündungen nachzuweisen oder den Verlauf von autoimmunen Schilddrüsenerkrankungen zu überwachen.

Die Schilddrüsentumormarker sind das Thyreoglobulin und das Calcitonin. Sie geben einen Hinweis auf das Vorliegen eines Schilddrüsenkarzinoms.

Das Thyreoglobulin ist bei einem papillären oder follikulären Schilddrüsenkarzinom häufig erhöht und insbesondere auch in der Nachsorge dieser Schilddrüsentumoren wichtig. Das Thyreoglobulin kann aber auch einmal bei gutartigen Schilddrüsenknoten (follikulären Neoplasien) erhöht sein, ist üblicherweise aber auch bei akuten Entzündungen der Schilddrüse oder bei Einblutungen in Schilddrüsenknoten oder Zysten erhöht. Deswegen müssen die Werte immer auch mit den übrigen Befunden der Schilddrüsenuntersuchung abgeglichen werden.

Das Calcitonin ist ein Tumormarker, der sehr genau im Nachweis eines medullären Schilddrüsenkarzinoms ist. Auch in der Nachsorge des medullären Schilddrüsenkarzinoms nach Operation ist das Calcitonin extrem wichtig. Das Calcitonin kann auch einmal erhöht sein bei gutartigen Schilddrüsenerkrankungen (einer C-Zell-Hyperplasie), aber auch bei Nierenerkrankungen oder selten einmal bei Bronchialkarzinomen oder Mammakarzinomen.

Schilddrüsen-SonographieUltraschalluntersuchung

Mit Hilfe der Sonographie (Ultraschalluntersuchung) lassen sich in der Schilddrüse Strukturveränderungen (Knoten, Zysten, Verkalkungen) auffinden, die Größe der Schilddrüse bestimmen oder Gewebeveränderungen betrachten.

Unser Farbdoppler-Sonographiegrät HD 7 (Phillips) arbeitet in einem Frequenzbereich von 5 MHz bis 12 MHz. Die XRES-adaptive Bildverarbeitung reduziert das Rauschen und verbessert die Bildauflösung. Das SonoCT Real Time Compound Imaging verbessert den Kontrast und verdeutlicht die Abzeichnung von Gewebeübergängen, indem es nachfolgende Bilder mit unterschiedlichen Steuerwinkeln erfasst und miteinander vereint.

Mit unserem Farbdoppler läßt sich auch die Perfusion (Durchblutung) der Schilddrüse oder von Strukturen innerhalb der Schilddrüse beurteilen. Dies ist hilfreich zur Beurteilung der Güte von Schilddrüsengewebe.

Manchmal ist zur Beurteilung von Gewebe eine sonographiegesteuerte Feinnadelpunktion, eine Gewebeentnahme mit einer dünnen Nadel unter Ultraschallkontrolle, nötig. Damit kann bei auffälligen Knoten das Gewebe eindeutig beurteilt werden. Diese Feinnadelpunktion wird ambulant durchgeführt und ist nicht schmerzhafter als eine Blutentnahme.

Schilddrüsen-Szintigraphie

Die Szintigraphie der Schilddrüse ist eine nuklearmedizinische Untersuchung. Häufig kann die Schilddrüse auch ohne diese Untersuchung gut überwacht und behandelt werden. In manchen Fällen muss die Untersuchung aber erfolgen.

Die Schilddrüsenszintigraphie wird dann erforderlich, wenn auffällige Knoten in der Schilddrüse vorhanden sind. In diesem Fall werden Sie von uns zu einer Szintigraphie überwiesen. Bei der Szintigraphie der Schilddrüse wird eine leicht radioaktive Substanz in die Armvene injiziert. Diese Substanz ist 99m-Technetium. Die Strahlenbelastung ist sehr niedrig, weil das Technetium eine physikalische Halbwertszeit von 6 Stunden und eine biologische Halbwertszeit hat, die noch kürzer ist. Es gibt üblicherweise keine allergischen Reaktionen auf die Injektion. Auch sonstige Unverträglichkeiten kommen nicht vor.

Das Technetium reichert sich innerhalb von 10-20 Minuten in der Schilddrüse an. Danach wird eine Aufnahme der Schilddrüse mit einer sogenannten Gammakamera gemacht, da das Technetium Gammastrahlung aussendet. Mit der Aufnahme kann dann die Funktion der Schilddrüse bzw. von einzelnen Schilddrüsenknoten dargestellt werden.

Es lassen sich heiße Knoten wie auch kalte Knoten abgrenzen. Manche Knoten haben auch einen normalen Stoffwechsel. Auch der Gesamtstoffwechsel der Schilddrüse lässt sich messen.

Die heißen Knoten sind Knoten, die nicht bösartig werden. Sie sind immer harmlos, kommen aber etwas seltener vor als die kalten Knoten. Die heißen Knoten können eine Überfunktion der Schilddrüse verursachen.

Die kalten Knoten sind in der weit überwiegenden Anzahl der Fälle harmlos. Weniger als 1 Promille der kalten Knoten wird zu einem Schilddrüsenkarzinom (Schilddrüsenkrebs).

Für die Schilddrüsenszintigraphie ist keine spezielle Vorbereitung nötig. Die Patienten müssen nicht nüchtern sein. Sie dürfen vor der Untersuchung normal essen und trinken. Sie dürfen auch die meisten Medikamente einnehmen. Nur Schilddrüsentabletten sollten am Tag der Szintigraphie nicht eingenommen werden. Die Aufnahme des Technetiums in der Schilddrüse wird verändert, wenn Patienten in den vier Wochen vor der Szintigraphie Röntgenkontrastmittel (z. B. bei einer Computertomographie) bekommen haben. Dann sollte die Untersuchung verschoben werden.

Eine Schilddrüsenszintigraphie wird wegen der Strahlenbelastung natürlich nicht bei schwangeren Patientinnen durchgeführt. Auch bei Kindern wird nur in sehr seltenen Fällen eine Szintigraphie nötig sein.

Terminanfrage


Wenn Sie bei uns einen Termin vereinbaren wollen, können Sie hier Ihren Namen und Ihre Telefonnummer eintragen. Wir rufen zurück.

  030 - 20 05 91 33

KontaktSchilddrüsen-Privatpraxis Berlin-Mitte

Standort
Die Praxis liegt in der Glinkastrasse 30,
nicht weit entfernt von der Ecke zur Französischen Straße.

Glinkastr. 30
10117 Berlin (Mitte)

Telefon:030 / 20 05 91 33
0151 / 51 55 80 00
Telefax:030 / 20 05 91 34

Termine nach Vereinbarung
Montag: 8.00 - 18.00 Uhr
Dienstag: 8.00 - 18.00 Uhr
Mittwoch: 8.00 - 15.30 Uhr
Donnerstag: 8.00 - 18.00 Uhr
Freitag: 8.00 - 14.00 Uhr


BVG Fahrplanauskunft
BVG Fahrplanauskunft